Multiple Teams · Dustin Horter and Rachel Lewis Named “Best of the Best!”

Thunderhawk standouts Dustin Horter (Boys Cross Country) and Rachel Lewis (Softball) were named the best in their sports at Monday nights Greater Cincinnati Sports Awards at the Arnoff Center.  

The event was sponsored by Beacon Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine. Special speaker at the event was Bengals head coach Marvin Lewis.

The best night in high school sports honored the top student-athletes in 28 varsity sports. There were also special awards given out for the top overall male and female athletes of the year, as well as the Courage Award and Nike I Am Sport Award.

“You tonight are special, ” said Lewis.  “You’re the cream of the crop. The thing that will always separate you that no one can take away is how hard you work and what you do with your mind. Those are tangible things that nobody can take away from you. The best players that I’ve coached are the smartest guys. What makes up a great professional athlete: it’s talent and ability, but it’s drive and it’s smarts and it’s work ethic.”

The night gave these young men and women an opportunity to stand on a stage and project their thoughts and feelings into a microphone. It was a rare opportunity and the student-athletes appreciated the moment.


Below is a complete list of all the recipients:

Girls cross country – Maddie Walker, Amelia

Boys cross country – Dustin Horter, Lakota East

Girls golfer – Natalia Sompolvorachai, Lakota West

Boys golfer – Cooper Hausfeld, Wyoming

Girls tennis – Emily Thomas, Princeton

Girls soccer – Abigail Zoeller, Simon Kenton

Boys soccer – Cameron Belle, Summit Country Day

Water polo – Charles Leibson, St. Xavier

Field hockey – Jillian Shive, Ursuline Academy

Girls volleyball – Kaity Smith, Cooper

Football – Ra’Von Bonner, Sycamore

Girls bowler – Taylor Evans, Boone County

Boys bowling – Andy Campbell, Highlands

Ice hockey – Ron Larkin, Elder

Gymnastics – Casey Gittelman, Anderson

Wrestler – Zack Donathan, Mason

Girls basketball – Sammie Puisis, Mason

Boys basketball – Jake Ohmer, Scott

Boys swimming – Grant House, St. Xavier

Girls swimming – Allison Bloebaum, Mason

Baseball – Luke Waddell, Loveland

Softball – Rachel Lewis, Lakota East

Boys tennis – Kevin Yu, Cincinnati Country Day

Boys lacrosse – Brady Stoll, St. Xavier

Girls lacrosse – Katie McElveen, Loveland

Boys volleyball – Mark Klusman, Elder

Boys track – Albert Kalala, Withrow

Girls track – J’Alyiea Smith, Withrow

Male Athlete of the Year – Dante Hendrix, Cooper

Female Athlete of the Year – Hallie Heidemann, McAuley

Courage Award – Noah Kennedy, Colerain

Nike I am Sport winner – Priscilla Michaels, Dayton

Coach of Year – Steve Specht, St. Xavier